AWS Target Groups for ALBs

AWS’ ELB has 3 types: ALBs (Application Load Balancers), NLBs (Network Load Balancers) and Classic Load Balancers.

This diagram shows the basic components.

                The components of a basic Application Load Balancer


A Listener is a process that checks for connection requests based on the protocol and port you configure. Supported are:

Protocols: HTTP, HTTPS

Ports: 1- 65535

Listener rules

The rules defined for a listener set up how the LB routes requests to the targets in the target groups.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *